2014-15 Pre-Season 10 min H/Cap


16 players contested our pre-season event and one of our guests won. Jonah Willow stormed to victory with 5/5 after defeating Michael Barnes in the 4th round. Jonah showed remarkable composure in 4 of the rounds where he had either 4 or 6 minutes versus his opponent’s 16 or 14. In round 4 he finally had a time advantage with 14 minutes to Mike’s 6 minutes and put Mike under pressure. Just as it looked like Mike was equalising he dropped a knight in time trouble.

The time handicap proved to be a great leveller as a number of lower graded players defeated so called stronger players. Defending champion John Huthwaite lost to both Derek Padvis and Maggie Gretton and never challenged the leaders. Final Scores:

5 points: Jonah Willow
4 points: Michael Barnes, Derek Padvis
3 points: Maggie Gretton, John Huthwaite, Simon Scott, Ronnie Watson
2.5 points: Hambel Willow
2 points: John Tassi, Peter Gorecka-Marshall, Michael Harper, Brian Hayward, Gary Hopkinson
1 point: Graham Gibson, Ken Heath
0.5 point: Keith Roper

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.